The Academy of Neuroscience for Architecture (ANFA) took shape in 2002 as a Legacy Project to the national American Institute of Architects (AIA) Convention. Held in San Diego and hosted by the local AIA Chapter in cooperation with its Architectural Foundation, the June 2003 Convention featured a keynote address on architecture and neuroscience by Dr. Fred Gage, a principal investigator at the Salk Institute for Biological Studies in La Jolla. The acknowledgement of ANFA was then made official. At the time of this debut, the College of Fellows of the AIA announced that ANFA and its founding President, John Paul Eberhard, FAIA, had won the Latrobe Prize – a biennial award of $100,000 for research that would lead to significant advances in the architectural profession.

The two year study would lead to workshops among cross disciplines, reports, articles and books. ANFA would obtain its certification as a 501 (c) (3) corporation from the State of California in February, 2003. Articles of Incorporation became binding and a Board of Directors, established by the adoption of Bylaws, assumed the responsibility of the organization’s mission. The Academy is grateful to those people who were instrumental in bringing the concept of the organization to fruition (note that titles and associations apply to 2003).

Organizing Committee of the AIA San Diego Chapter for the Academy of Neuroscience for Architecture 2003 Legacy Project of the San Diego Architectural Foundation

Alison Whitelaw, FAIA, Chair
San Diego Architectural Foundation President
Platt/Whitelaw Architects

Frederick Marks,AIA
Earl Walls Associates

Gil Cooke, AIA
New School of Architecture and Design

Tom Angelwicz, AIA
Co-chair, AIA San Diego Convention Organizing Committee
M.W. Steele Group

Matt Smith
Case Group Architects

An Advisory Board in the Establishment of the Academy of Neuroscience for Architecture in 2003 included:

Fred Gage, PhD
Laboratory of Genetics
The Salk Institute for Biological Studies

John Eberhard, FAIA
AIA National Director of Research & Planning
The American Institute of Architects

Tom Albright, PhD
Professor and Director
Vision Center Laboratory
The Salk Institute for Biological Studies

Norman Koonce, FAIA
Executive Vice President and CEO
The American Institute of Architects

Larry Squire, PhD
Professor of Psychiatry, and Neurosciences
School of Medicine
University of California, San Diego

Thompson Penney FAIA
AIA National President 2002-2003
LS3P Associates Ltd

Terrence Sejnowski, PhD
Professor and Laboratory Head
Computational Neurobiology Laboratory
The Salk Institute for Biological Studies

Robert Campbell, FAIA
Architectural Critic
AThe Boston Globe

W. Einar Gall, PhD
Research Director
The Neurosciences Institute

Eduardo R. Macagno, PhD
Founding Dean
Division of Biological Sciences
University of California, San Diego

Harold L. Adams, FAIA, RIBA, JIA
RTKL Associates Inc.

Michael Stepner, FAIA, FAICP
Director of Land Use and Housing
San Diego Regional Economic Development Corporation

Paul Meyer
Latham & Watkins LLP

Steven Henriksen, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Neuropharmacology
The Scripps Institute

Richard Saul Wurman, FAIA
President, Wurman, Inc.

Dr. Robert Schuller, Hon. AIA
Pastor, Crystal Cathedral Ministries

Joan Abrahamson, President
Jonas Salk Foundation